The Inuit are the Aboriginal people of Arctic Canada.

“Inuit” is an Inuktitut term, meaning literally “the people.”

Inuit communities are located across the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (Northwest Territories), Nunavut, Nunavik (Northern Quebec), and Nunatsiavut (Northern Labrador) land claims regions. Inuit call this vast region Inuit Nunangat.

Historically, the Inuit were called “Eskimo.” This term came into use in the 17th century to describe a people inhabiting the Arctic regions of Canada, Greenland, Alaska and Siberia.

The term has been replaced in Canada by “Inuit,” which is what the people of these regions prefer to call themselves. The Inuit are one of three Aboriginal peoples in Canada recognized in the Constitution Act, 1982.


Online Resources

Genealogy and Family History


Virtual Exhibitions

Date modified: