ISSN Canada

The International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) is a unique code for identifying serial publications such as periodicals, magazines, journals, newspapers, annuals, and monographic series. It provides an efficient and economical method of communication between publishers and suppliers.

Obtaining an ISSN

ISSN assignment and registration of serials is based on the country of publication. Canadian publishers of serials can obtain ISSN from ISSN Canada, a service of Library and Archives Canada, by completing the online ISSN Application Form.

Non-Canadian publishers of serials should contact the appropriate ISSN centre to request an ISSN.

ISSN are assigned free of charge.

Contact us

ISSN Canada
Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0N4
Canada

Email: BAC.ISSN.LAC@canada.ca
Telephone: 819-994-6895
Toll free in Canada and the U.S.: 1–866–578–7777 (select 1+7+4)
Fax: 819-997-6209

About ISSN

International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)

The ISSN is an internationally recognized identification code for serial publications. An ISSN is an eight-digit standard number that becomes a permanent attribute of a serial for as long as it is issued under the same title. Unlike the International Standard Book Number (ISBN), which contains country and publisher elements, the ISSN has no inherent meaning and serves only to uniquely identify a serial. When the title of a serial changes, a new ISSN must be assigned. The ISSN of a ceased or changed serial title must never be reused.

ISSN are assigned by national or regional centres of the international ISSN Network. This system of international coordination ensures that each ISSN is unique to one serial publication. ISSN can be used wherever information on serials needs to be recorded or communicated with precision (e.g., purchase orders, database searching).

Definition of a serial publication

A "serial" is a publication in any medium that is issued in successive parts and intended to be continued indefinitely. Each issue of a serial usually bears a numerical and/or chronological designation (e.g., volume and issue number, and/or month and year) that distinguishes the individual issues of the serial from each other.

Serials include periodicals, magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, annuals (reports, yearbooks, directories, etc.), conference proceedings, and monographic series.

This definition excludes multi-volume sets consisting of a finite number of parts, even if all parts are not issued simultaneously.

Serials can be published in any medium (e.g., print, online, CD-ROM). If a serial is issued in more than one medium, a different ISSN is required for each medium in which the serial is issued.

International Standard ISO 3297

In 1971, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standard for the creation of International Standard Serial Numbers (ISSN) was drafted. This International Standard was officially published in 1975 as ISO 3297.

ISSN Network

The ISSN was developed within the framework of UNESCO's world science information program (UNISIST). The ISSN system is a two-tier network, with the ISSN International Centre in Paris and national or regional centres in individual member countries around the world. The ISSN International Centre records and publishes bibliographic data supplied by national or regional centres in its central registration database, the ISSN Register.

ISSN Canada

In 1973, the former National Library of Canada was designated the national centre for Canada. As a result, ISSN Canada was established and began registering Canadian serials in January 1974. ISSN Canada is responsible for assigning ISSN to serials published in Canada, and for recording and maintaining the required bibliographic data. Most new serials received by Library and Archives Canada and catalogued for the national collection are automatically registered.

ISSN Register

Information about serials registered throughout the ISSN Network is published by the ISSN International Centre in the ISSN Register, accessible through the ISSN Portal by paid subscription.

Advantages of the ISSN

Publishers are not legally obliged to obtain or use ISSN but there are many advantages to having ISSN for serial publications:

  • An ISSN identifies a serial regardless of its language or country of origin, and it distinguishes between serials with identical or similar titles as each serial is assigned a unique and non-transferable number in accordance with a standard scheme that has been internationally adopted.
  • ISSN provide an efficient and economical method of communicating data about serials between publishers, suppliers, subscription agencies, database providers, researchers, and libraries. They also provide a useful point of access to publishers' catalogues, trade directories, inventories, bibliographies, etc.
  • ISSN are used in computer databases for updating and linking files, and for retrieving and transmitting data about serials.
  • An ISSN is an essential element of the International Article Number (EAN) and Serials Industry Systems Advisory Committee (SISAC) barcodes (see Canadian Barcode Producers).
  • ISSN are used in libraries for identifying, ordering, and processing serial titles, and for checking in and claiming missing issues.
  • ISSN simplify interlibrary loan systems and union catalogue reporting and listing.

Construction of the ISSN

An ISSN consists of eight digits. These are the arabic numerals 0 to 9, except in the case of the last or check digit where an upper case letter "X" can occur. The "X" in the check digit position represents the number 10. The check digit helps guard against data transcription errors and is an essential and inseparable part of the ISSN.

To avoid confusion with other numbering systems, the number is preceded by "ISSN" and a space, and is written as two groups of four digits separated by a hyphen.

Examples:

ISSN 0027-9633

ISSN 1927-226X

Importance of the title

The title of a serial publication is particularly important because an ISSN uniquely identifies a serial at the title level. A serial must have a clear and stable title from issue to issue, or from part to part, to be eligible for ISSN assignment. The same ISSN is used on every issue of a serial so long as the title remains unchanged.

Because the ISSN identifies only one title, the ISSN must change when the title changes. When a title ceases to be published, the ISSN assigned to that serial's title must never be reused. Please notify ISSN Canada of any pending title change, and avoid printing or displaying an old ISSN on a new title.

A title associated with an ISSN is also known as a key title, which can be the same as the title proper. In case of a conflict with an identical title, the key title is made unique in the ISSN Register by adding a qualifying term (such as place of publication, name of issuing body, date, or medium statement) in parentheses.

Display of the ISSN

The ISSN should appear in a prominent position in every issue of a serial publication. For printed serials, the ISSN should be displayed on the front cover (preferably in the top right-hand corner), or on the title page, caption, masthead, back cover, colophon, or editorial pages. For electronic serials, the ISSN should be displayed prominently on the title screen or main menu of the resource. The number is preceded by ISSN and a space, and should appear as two groups of four digits separated by a hyphen.

Example: ISSN 0027-9633

ISSN assigned to different media versions of a serial may appear together on each version.

Examples:

ISSN 0318-6954 (Print)

ISSN 1923-6409 (Online)

When an International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is also applicable, as in the case of books published in a monographic series, the two numbers should appear together, each preceded by its own prefix of letters.

Examples:

ISBN 978-1-100-94660-3

ISSN 1708-0177

It is also useful to include the ISSN in advertisements, trade literature, book reviews, etc., because ISSN are widely used to process and verify order information.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  1. Are different ISSN required for different file formats of the same online serial?
  2. How many ISSN are required for English-language and French-language editions of the same serial?
  3. What changes require a new ISSN?
  4. Is a monographic series eligible for an ISSN?
  5. What is the difference between ISSN and ISBN?
  6. Is there a legal requirement for Canadian publishers to obtain an ISSN?
  7. What is the relationship between ISSN and copyright?
  8. How do federal government publishers obtain a Government of Canada Catalogue Number?

1. Are different ISSN required for different file formats of the same online serial?

No. The same ISSN is used for all online versions of a serial, including PDF and HTML file formats, and versions for mobile phones and e-reader devices.

2. How many ISSN are required for English-language and French-language editions of the same serial?

It depends. When a serial is published in an English-language edition and a French-language edition, and each language edition is available in both print and online versions, a total of four unique ISSN is assigned.

Example Language and medium
ISSN 1928-7313 (Print) English-only document, print medium
ISSN 1928-6767 (Online) English-only document, electronic medium
ISSN 1928-7348 (Imprimé) French-only document, print medium
ISSN 1928-7275 (En ligne) French-only document, electronic medium

When the print version of a serial is a bilingual edition (e.g., text in English and French on inverted pages, text in English and French in parallel columns), but the online versions are published as separate language editions, then three ISSN are required: one for the printed bilingual edition and one for each separate online language edition.

Example Language and medium
ISSN 2291-9384 (Print) Bilingual document, print medium
ISSN 2291-9341 (Online) English-only document, electronic medium
ISSN 2291-935X (En ligne) French-only document, electronic medium

If both the print and online versions of a serial are bilingual editions with English and French text in parallel columns, or with articles in either English or French, two unique ISSN are assigned.

Example Language and medium
ISSN 1193-8536 (Print) Bilingual document, print medium
ISSN 1918-8358 (Online) Bilingual document, electronic medium

3. What changes require a new ISSN?

A new ISSN is required when the title of a serial publication is changed. Changes in numbering, date, frequency, or place of publication do not require a new ISSN assignment.

4. Is a monographic series eligible for an ISSN?

Yes. A monographic series is a group of separate publications related to one another by the fact that each publication bears, in addition to its own distinctive title, a collective title applying to the group as a whole. In order to be eligible for ISSN assignment, a monographic series title (i.e., the collective title) must appear on each publication in addition to the distinctive title of the individual book.

Example:

  • Title of a monographic series: Crime and justice research paper series
  • Title of an individual book in this monographic series: Exploring crime patterns in Canada

5. What is the difference between ISSN and ISBN?

International Standard Serial Numbers (ISSN) are eight-digit standard numbers for the unique identification of serial publications.

Example: ISSN 0027-9633

International Standard Book Numbers (ISBN) are 13-digit standard numbers for the unique identification of each edition of a book or other monographic publication (e.g., pamphlets, educational kits, etc.).

Example: ISBN 978-0-9868892-3-3

Some types of publications, such as annuals or biennials, may be assigned both an ISSN and an ISBN.  Books published in a monographic series should have both an ISBN for the individual book and an ISSN for the entire series.

6. Is there a legal requirement for Canadian publishers to obtain an ISSN?

No. An ISSN is a voluntary identifier and Canadian publishers of serials are not legally obliged to obtain or display an ISSN.

7. What is the relationship between ISSN and copyright?

None. Registering a serial with an ISSN does not confer copyright protection or exclusive rights to that title. Multiple serial publications can have similar or identical titles.

For information on copyright, please contact the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).

8. How do federal government publishers obtain a Government of Canada Catalogue Number?

Please contact the Depository Services Program (DSP) to obtain a Government of Canada Catalogue Number for serial publications issued by Government of Canada departments and agencies.

Canadian  barcode producers

ISSN Canada does not provide barcodes. This sample list of Canadian barcode producers is provided for informational purposes only.

List of Canadian Barcode Producers [PDF 55 KB]

This document is available in Portable Document Format (PDF) version only. You will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader software to view or print this document, which is available for free from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Many publishers choose to print a barcode as well as an ISSN on printed issues of their serials. A barcode simplifies the processing of serials in libraries, and may therefore result in fewer claims, speedier shelving, and decreased costs for both libraries and publishers.

ISSN Canada recommends either the EAN or the SISAC (also called code 128) barcode because they display the ISSN in conjunction with the barcode.

Note: Library and Archives Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information in this list or for the services provided by these companies. The inclusion of a company on this list does not constitute an endorsement or recommendation by Library and Archives Canada.

Related sites

Date modified:

ISSN Canada

Le numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN) est un code unique d'identification des publications en série tels que les périodiques, magazines, revues, journaux, annuaires et collections monographiques. Il constitue une méthode de communication efficace et économique entre l'éditeur et le fournisseur.

Attribution de l'ISSN

Les modalités d'attribution et d'enregistrement de l'ISSN sont déterminées par le pays où est publiée la publication en série. Les éditeurs canadiens de publications en série peuvent obtenir un numéro ISSN d'ISSN Canada, un service supervisé par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, en remplissant le formulaire de demande d'ISSN en ligne.

Les éditeurs non canadiens de publications en série doivent s'adresser au Centre ISSN approprié en vue d'obtenir leur ISSN.

Les ISSN sont attribués gratuitement.

Contactez-nous

ISSN Canada
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
395, rue Wellington
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0N4
Canada

Courriel: BAC.ISSN.LAC@canada.ca
Téléphone : 819-994-6895
Sans frais au Canada et aux États-Unis : 1-866-578-7777 (appuyez sur 2+7+4)
Télécopieur : 819-997-6209

À propos de l'ISSN

Numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN)

L'ISSN est un code reconnu à l'échelle internationale qui permet d'identifier les publications en série. Un ISSN est un code normalisé de huit chiffres qui représente de façon permanente une publication en série tant que celle-ci ne change pas de titre. Contrairement au numéro normalisé international du livre (ISBN) qui contient des éléments en lien avec le pays et l'éditeur, l'ISSN ne comporte aucune signification particulière et sert à identifier une publication en série de façon unique. Un nouvel ISSN doit être attribué chaque fois qu'une publication en série change de titre. Un ISSN ne doit jamais être réutilisé, ni pour un nouveau titre, ni pour un titre modifié.

Les ISSN sont attribués par des centres nationaux et régionaux du réseau ISSN international. Grâce à cette coordination internationale, chaque ISSN est unique et représente une seule publication en série. Les ISSN peuvent, dans la mesure du possible, servir à inscrire ou à diffuser avec précision des renseignements au sujet des publications en série (par ex., commandes, consultation de bases de données).

Définition d'une publication en série

Une « publication en série » est une publication, sur toute forme de support, paraissant en livraisons successives, pendant une durée non limitée à l'avance. Chaque livraison d'une publication en série comporte habituellement une indication numérique et/ou chronologique (par ex., un système d'indication composé de lettres et de chiffres (vol.1, no 1) et/ou d'une date (mois et année)) qui distingue chaque livraison de la publication en série de toutes les autres.

Les publications en série englobent les périodiques, les magazines, les revues, les bulletins, les journaux, les publications annuelles (rapports, annuaires, répertoires, etc.), les actes d'un congrès et les collections monographiques.

Cette définition exclut les monographies en plusieurs volumes lorsqu'elles sont composées d'un nombre de parties déterminé, même si ces parties ne paraissent pas simultanément.

Tous les supports sont possibles (par ex., papier, numérique, CD-ROM). Lorsqu'une publication en série paraît sur plus d'un support, un ISSN distinct est normalement requis pour chaque support.

Norme internationale ISO 3297

En 1971, l'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO) annonçait un projet de norme visant la création d'un Numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN). Cette norme internationale a été officiellement lancée en 1975 sous l'appellation ISO 3297.

Réseau ISSN

L'ISSN a été créé dans le cadre du Programme intergouvernemental de coopération en matière d'information scientifique et technologique (UNISIST) de l'UNESCO. Le réseau ISSN compte deux paliers, une base de données centrale à Paris et des centres nationaux ou régionaux dans les divers pays participants. Le Centre international enregistre et publie les données que lui communiquent les centres nationaux ou régionaux dans son fichier central automatisé, le Registre de l'ISSN.

ISSN Canada

En 1973, l'ancienne Bibliothèque nationale du Canada avait été nommée centre national de l'ISSN au Canada. C'est en janvier 1974 qu'ISSN Canada a été établi et a commencé à enregistrer des publications en série canadiennes. ISSN Canada assumait à cette fin la responsabilité d'attribuer des ISSN aux publications en série canadiennes ainsi que d'enregistrer et conserver les données bibliographiques requises. La plupart des nouvelles publications en série reçues par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et cataloguées en vue de la bibliographie nationale sont automatiquement enregistrées.

Registre de l'ISSN

Ces renseignements sur les publications en série sont transmis au Centre international à Paris qui les ajoute à sa base de données et de ce fait deviennent accessibles partout sur le réseau grâce au Portail ISSN, disponible par abonnement.

Avantages de l'ISSN

L'attribution d'un ISSN à une publication en série comporte de nombreux avantages :

  • L'ISSN permet d'identifier une publication en série, peu importe sa langue ou son pays d'origine. Il distingue également parmi les publications en série des titres identiques ou similaires. Cela est rendu possible du fait que la publication en série est dotée d'un numéro d'identification unique et non transférable, attribué à partir d'un système normalisé adopté à l'échelle internationale.
  • L'ISSN constitue une méthode de communication efficace et économique entre l'éditeur, le fournisseur, les agences d'abonnement, les fournisseurs de bases de données, les chercheurs et les bibliothèques. Il constitue aussi un point d'accès utile à des catalogues d'éditeurs, des répertoires commerciaux, des inventaires automatisés, des bibliographies, etc.
  • L'ISSN peut être utilisé au moyen de l'ordinateur pour la mise à jour et la liaison des fichiers, la recherche documentaire et la communication de données au sujet des publications en série.
  • L'ISSN est un élément essentiel des codes à barres de l'International Article Number (EAN) et du Serials Industry Systems Advisory Committee (SISAC). (Voir Fournisseurs de codes à barres.)
  • Les bibliothèques se servent de l'ISSN pour identifier, commander et enregistrer des titres de publications en série, et réclamer les numéros qui manquent.
  • L'ISSN simplifie les systèmes de prêt entre bibliothèques, la participation aux catalogues collectifs ainsi que la tenue de ces catalogues.

Composition d'un ISSN

L'ISSN se compose de huit éléments numériques, soit les chiffres arabes de 0 à 9, sauf pour le cas où un chiffre de contrôle apparaît à la fin de la séquence sous la forme d'un « X » majuscule, lequel représente le nombre 10. Le chiffre de contrôle permet d'éviter les erreurs de transcription. C'est un élément essentiel et indissociable de l'ISSN.

Pour éviter toute confusion avec d'autres systèmes de numérotation, l'ISSN est représenté par deux séquences de quatre chiffres séparées par un tiret et précédées des lettres ISSN et une espace.

Exemples :

ISSN 0027-9633

ISSN 1927-226X

Importance du titre

Le titre de la publication en série est un élément particulièrement important parce que c'est par uniquement le titre que l'ISSN identifie une publication en série. Une publication en série doit avoir d'une livraison à l'autre un titre clairement libellé et permanent pour se voir attribuer un ISSN. Le même ISSN doit figurer sur chaque livraison tant et aussi longtemps que le titre reste le même.

Puisque l'ISSN identifie seulement un titre, tout changement de titre entraîne l'attribution d'un nouvel ISSN. Lorsqu'une publication en série a cessé de paraître, l'ISSN attribué au titre ne doit pas être utilisé de nouveau. On signalera à l'avance à ISSN Canada tout changement de titre et on évitera d'inscrire un ancien ISSN sur une publication ayant un nouveau titre.

Le titre doté d'un ISSN, appelé le titre clé, peut être le même que le titre propre. Si le titre clé est en conflit avec un titre identique, il convient alors d'ajouter entre parenthèses un qualificatif (tel que le lieu de la publication, le nom de la collectivité éditrice, la date, la mention du support) afin de le rendre unique.

Emplacement de l'ISSN

L'ISSN doit apparaître en évidence sur chaque livraison d'une publication en série. Il doit être imprimé de préférence dans le coin supérieur droit de la page couverture ou encore sur la page de  titre, le générique, le dos de la couverture, le colophon ou le texte promotionnel. Pour les publications en série numériques, l'ISSN doit figurer de façon évidente sur l'écran-titre ou le menu principal de la ressource. L'ISSN doit être représenté par deux séquences de quatre chiffres séparées par un tiret et précédées des lettres ISSN et une espace.

Exemple : ISSN 0027-9633

Les ISSN attribués à différents supports d'une même publication en série peuvent apparaître ensemble sur chacune des versions.

Exemples :

ISSN 0318-6954 (Imprimé)

ISSN 1923-6409 (En ligne)

Lorsqu'une publication comporte aussi un Numéro normalisé international du livre (ISBN), comme c'est le cas des collections monographiques, les deux numéros devraient apparaître ensemble, chacun précédé de ses propres lettres.

Exemples :

ISBN 978-1-100-94660-3

ISSN 1708-0177

Étant donné que l'ISSN est utilisé largement pour traiter l'information et vérifier les commandes, il est en outre utile d'inscrire l'ISSN dans la publicité, la documentation commerciale, les recensions, etc.

Foire aux questions

  1. Est-ce que les différents formats de fichier d'une publication en série en ligne requièrent un numéro distinct?
  2. Combien d'ISSN sont attribués pour identifier les éditions française et anglaise d'une même publication en série?
  3. Quelles sont les conditions exigées pour demander un nouveau ISSN?
  4. Est-ce que le titre d'une collection monographique doit recevoir un ISSN?
  5. Quelle est la différence entre un ISSN et un ISBN?
  6. Est-ce qu'il y a une obligation légale pour les éditeurs canadiens d'obtenir un ISSN?
  7. Est-ce qu'il y a un lien entre l'ISSN et les droits d'auteur?
  8. Comment les éditeurs du gouvernement fédéral obtiennent-ils un numéro de catalogue du gouvernement du Canada?

1. Est-ce que les différents formats de fichier d'une publication en série en ligne requièrent un numéro distinct?

Non. Le même ISSN est utilisé pour toutes les versions numériques d'une publication en série, telles que les fichiers PDF, HTML ainsi que les versions propres aux téléphones mobiles et liseuses électroniques.

2. Combien d'ISSN sont attribués pour identifier les éditions française et anglaise d'une même publication en série?

Cela dépend. Lorsqu'une publication en série est publiée séparément dans des versions française et anglaise et que chaque langue d'édition est disponible également en version papier et en ligne, quatre numéros ISSN sont donc attribués.

Exemples Langue et version
ISSN 1928-7348 (Imprimé) Document en français seulement, version papier
ISSN 1928-7275 (En ligne) Document en français seulement, version en ligne
ISSN 1928-7313 (Print) Document en anglais seulement, version papier
ISSN 1928-6767 (Online) Document en anglais seulement, version en ligne

Lorsque la version imprimée d'une publication en série est une édition bilingue (par ex., texte en français et en anglais disposé tête-bêche, texte en français et en anglais sur deux colonnes), mais que la version numérique est publiée séparément en français et en anglais, on attribue à l'édition bilingue imprimée un ISSN unique alors que les versions française et anglaise des publications numériques recevront chacune un numéro ISSN unique pour un total de trois ISSN.

Exemples Langue et version
ISSN 2291-9384 (Imprimé) Document bilingue, version papier
ISSN 2291-935X (En ligne) Document en français seulement, version en ligne
ISSN 2291-9341 (Online) Document en anglais seulement, version en ligne

Si les deux versions imprimé et numérique de la publication en série sont des éditions bilingues avec du texte en français et en anglais disposé sur deux colonnes ou des articles soit en français, soit en anglais, deux ISSN uniques sont attribués.

Exemples Langue et version
ISSN 1193-8536 (Imprimé) Document bilingue, version papier
ISSN 1918-8358 (En ligne) Document bilingue, version en ligne

3. Quelles sont les conditions exigées pour demander un nouveau ISSN?

Un nouvel ISSN est requis lorsque le titre de la publication en série change. Cependant des modifications dans la numérotation, la périodicité ou le lieu de la publication n'entraîneront pas de nouvelle attribution.

4. Est-ce que le titre d'une collection monographique doit recevoir un ISSN?

Oui. Une collection monographique est un groupement de publications particulières reliées les unes aux autres par le fait que chacune d'elles porte en plus de leur propre titre, un titre collectif englobant le groupe comme un tout. Pour qu'il puisse recevoir un ISSN, le titre de la collection monographique (c.-à-d. le titre collectif) doit apparaître conjointement avec le titre de la monographie en tant que telle.

Exemple :

  • Titre de la collection monographique : Série de documents de recherche sur la criminalité et la justice
  • Titre de la monographie faisant partie de la collection : L'exploration des tendances de la criminalité au Canada

5. Quelle est la différence entre un ISSN et un ISBN?

Le Numéro international normalisé des publications en série (ISSN) est un code normalisé de huit chiffres qui permet d'identifier une publication en série de façon unique.

Exemple : ISSN 0027-9633 

Le Numéro normalisé international du livre (ISBN) est un code normalisé de 13 chiffres qui permet d'identifier de façon unique chaque édition d'un ouvrage ou autre publication monographique (par ex., brochures, trousses éducatives, etc.).

Exemple : ISBN 978-0-9868892-3-3

Certaines publications comme les publications annuelles ou biennales peuvent porter à la fois un ISSN et un ISBN. Les monographies qui relèvent d'une collection devraient porter à la fois un ISBN pour la monographie particulière et un ISSN pour l'ensemble de la collection.

6. Est-ce qu'il y a une obligation légale pour les éditeurs canadiens d'obtenir un ISSN?

Non. Les éditeurs canadiens ne sont pas obligés légalement d'obtenir ou d'afficher un ISSN pour leurs publications.

7. Est-ce qu'il y a un lien entre l'ISSN et les droits d'auteur?

Aucun. Attribuer un ISSN à une publication en série ne confère aucune protection sur le plan des droits d'auteur, aucun droit exclusif en rapport avec ce titre. D'ailleurs plusieurs publications en série peuvent avoir des titres similaires, voire identiques.

Pour de l'information concernant les droits d'auteur, prière de contacter l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC).

8. Comment les éditeurs du gouvernement fédéral obtiennent-ils un numéro de catalogue du gouvernement du Canada?

Prière de contacter le Programme des services de dépôt (PSD) afin d'obtenir un numéro de catalogue du gouvernement du Canada pour les publications en série publiées par les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement canadien.

Fournisseurs canadiens de codes à barres

ISSN Canada n'attribue pas de codes à barres. On consultera à titre d'information seulement cette liste de fournisseurs canadiens de codes à barres.

Liste de fournisseurs canadiens de codes à barres [PDF 55 Ko]

Ce document est disponible en version PDF (format de documents transférables) seulement. Le logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader permet de visualiser et d'imprimer des fichiers PDF.

Plusieurs éditeurs choisissent d'imprimer sur les livraisons de leurs publications en série des codes à barres conjointement avec les ISSN. Le code à barres simplifie le traitement des publications en série dans les bibliothèques. Il favorise une baisse dans les réclamations, un rangement plus rapide sur les rayons et une diminution des coûts tant pour les bibliothèques que pour les éditeurs.

ISSN Canada recommande ou bien le code à barres d'EAN ou bien celui du SISAC (identifié également sous l'appellation code 128) parce qu'ils affichent l'ISSN conjointement avec le code à barres.

Nota : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada décline toute responsabilité quant à l'exactitude, à la fiabilité, à la validité des renseignements sur cette liste ou aux services fournis par ces firmes. L'inclusion d'une firme sur cette liste ne constitue ni une acceptation ni une recommandation de la part de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Sites connexes

Date de modification :