Provinces and territories

The Canada we know today comprises ten provinces and three territories. The process leading to the entry of each of these provinces and territories into Canadian confederation is a story worth telling. The following texts present the social, economic and political conditions that existed when these provinces and territories joined Canada. Emphasis is placed on the specific experiences of each province or territory, and on the similarities between the various provinces and territories. You will become acquainted with the principal characters and you will be plunged into the main discussions. You will get an idea of what Canada was like during these various moments in its history.

Date modified: